Have You Ever Felt So Green?

-

When I think of felt – I think of 5th grade. That’s the year my best friend, Eden, and I created a 2-foot-high UCLA basketball player out of papier-mache. We captured him mid-stride with an orange Styrofoam basketball hanging from his hand. The light blue and yellow uniform, socks and shoes were made with felt.

Back then, I had no idea I was working with an organic textile. (We won’t discuss the Styrofoam ball or the loads of toxic glue). I also didn’t think of felt as aesthetically pleasing in any way.

But times have changed. And Selina Rose has changed the way I see felt. The British designer runs her own design studio, working with industrial and 100% wool felt colored with environmentally-friendly dyes. Her intricately-designed textiles – rugs, window panels, table runners, room dividers and more – are created using an innovative watercut technology, non-PVC decals and water based non-toxic inks.

Check out her newest collections – Bloom and Botanica. Simply spectacular, stylish and chic. I adore the panels (available by commission) – I’d hang one or two to break up my open space plan apartment in a subtle way.

-

The bloom rug with floral cutouts measures 4′ x 4′ ($900). There’s also a 4′ round botanica rug ($900). See her cushions ($150), table runners ($195) and lampshades ($168) at the online shop.

Selina Rose textiles can also be purchased in person at Eco Age, the new London eco-shop owned by British actor Colin Firth, his wife and brother-in-law. Their online store is coming soon. Or order by telephone +44 (0) 7803 147898 or via email.

I’ve never felt so green.

Sara’s shameless plug: Hi, it’s your editor. De-lurk, dear reader, and leave this fabulous writer a comment. (We love chatting.) You can also share this post with friends – just click your favorite social bookmark listed below. New reader? Be sure to sign up for the weekly newsletter to win free eco goodies! You can also subscribe to any RSS feed your heart desires.

One comment

  1. I’m not even that into pink and I love this!

Leave a Reply

