Lay Your Laptop on This

-

At home I work at a vintage architect’s desk that’s big enough for my laptop, a printer, colored pencils, pens and a small army of accessories and implements. I love this desk; every scratch, gouge and pen-mark on it.

But when I want to write (or IM) into the wee hours while lounging on the couch or in bed, I need something solid and supportive on which to lay my laptop. I’ve tried putting it on a pillow, to no avail – this only accelerates my already well-traveled path toward carpel tunnel.

(I know what you’re thinking – pillows are not so solid and supportive, in fact most are squishy and comfortably form-fitting. So it wasn’t one of my best efforts. But I do sleep on firm pillows.)

Still in need of a solid solution, I came across this solid bamboo Bedworks Laptop Platform by Reform. It has a storage compartment for paper or magazines and is finished in a water-based, low VOC clear top coat. It’s sustainable and beautiful – you don’t want to keep this piece in the closet when not in use.

At $250 it’s no bargain, but when I think about how much time I spend on my computer and how often I stray from my desk, it makes sense. Find it at Design Public.

Sara’s shameless plug: Hi, it’s your editor. De-lurk, dear reader, and leave this fabulous writer a comment. You can also share this post with friends – just click your favorite social bookmark listed below. New reader? Be sure to sign up for the weekly newsletter to win free eco goodies! You can also subscribe to any RSS feed your heart desires.

2 comments

  1. Luanne · · Reply

    This is such a pretty design. I have been looking for something to prop my new laptop for long hours of writing. Good find!

  2. Matthew Taylor · · Reply

    Another great site to find some awesome home décor products is http://www.burkedecor.com. Burke Décor is a great place to shop for modern home decor and garden decor at low prices.

Leave a Reply

