Handmade By Heidi & Seek

-

My grandfather used to tell me, “Things aren’t made the way they used to be”. We were probably looking at some item made within the last 30 years, and he was referring to its lack of craftsmanship and attention to detail. I agreed, and not just because he’s my gramps.

There’s something special about handmade things – maybe it’s the passionate intention or the time invested – but the difference is tangible. You can see it, touch it, practically smell it. Lest you think I am full of dramatic eco fluff, here’s an example of hand-made and recycled at its best.

Heidi & Seek is a one-woman show that has me standing for an encore. Her name is Hayley Lau, her home base is Australia and her wares are eco-friendly, sweatshop free and totally affordable. She designs and sews each piece herself.

My favorite by far is her Block Girl Dress made using a second-hand top and various unused factory remnants including black jersey, purple stretchy stuff and cream jacquard fabric. This one is size extra- small to small (US 2-4) and will set you back only $64 (plus $7.50 shipping from Australia). Available at the Heidi & Seek Etsy store.

Heidi & Seek pieces are one of a kind, quirky and have a mod 60s feel to them. Lau rarely makes more than one version of each, which makes sense since she’s using recycled materials. Learn more about her ethical clothing and commitment to eco-friendly living at her website and her blog.

3 comments

  1. Wow great find. Her clothes are adorable. I wish there were more medium and large sizes but what she has are super cute, quirky and affordable. I love the idea of re purposed thrifted items. Thrift store wear isn’t often appealing to me, but these are amazing!

    Terri Ann’s last blog post..C.O. Bigelow – Bath and Body Works’ Natural(ish) Solution

  2. Great post, Kim, and thanks for turning us on to a new designer. Sarah I. and I were just talking about how one could patch holey socks in a refined and hip way. I think increasingly we’re all going to find fun ways to recycle things into “eco bespoke” fashion and forget all about it being “used”. 😉

  3. Hi, I’m Hayley of Heidi & Seek. I appreciate the feature and kind words. Thank you.

    I think there’s something important to be said about making use of existing materials, especially when beautiful things can come from it. I wish more people would start doing so and I hope I give them the idea that it’s possible to be eco-friendly and attractive at the same time.

Leave a Reply

