A Good Reason to Buy Something Useless

useless 2

Of course, I never wasted my hard-earned cash on something I didn’t need*. But in case you ever have, now there’s a good reason…to go useless.

Useless, in this situation, is guilt-free: sustainable, charitable and fashionable. It’s got good written all over it.

The eco-friendly brand Useless sells stuff people need and use and gives 10% of profits to water and sanitation projects in developing countries. (Find out more about these projects on the Useless website). The company’s small list of products includes messenger & tote bags (image above), hats, tees (image below), hoodies, reusable water bottles and notebooks. All are useful. Everything is 100% sustainable.

useless 3

And fashionably cool, of course. But the emphasis is on making a difference and having a positive impact on the planet, because no one is exempt.

And with a name like Useless, I’m hoping more people actually take to heart the obvious play on words, and make more of an effort to…use less.

Shop for something Useless at their online store.

* okay, I’m lying.

via MaxGladwell

9 comments

  1. A bit ironic….while all those things (bags, tshirts, hats, hoodies) are useful, I can’t think of one person I know that NEEDS more of those things. I’m trying to do my part to Use Less by buying as few any new things as possible…garage sales, freecycle, trading with friends, and fixing old things are all natural ways to buy less and use less resources.

  2. Amanda · · Reply

    I love that these handbags don’t look like they’ve been made out of recycled materials; they’re still fashionable. I think that some natural products can end up looking too homemade and in some cases, ugly.

  3. Brooke · · Reply

    While I get what the above post is saying, I actually do NEED a new hoodie from time to time (I’ve got one I’ve totally worn to shreds) and my kids need t-shirts, hats, etc. because they grow, so I like the opportunity to shop somewhere that produces NATURAL eco-friendly goods and donates some of the proceeds where they may be needed. Not the only solution, but a good one, I think.

  4. Love that helm and silk slouch bag! I love all things natural. I usually feel that nature has become part of me when I use anything made of organic and minimally processed materials. Keep up the good work.
    Lina

  5. susan schmidt · · Reply

    I am naturally hot living in Texas and love all natural cotton clothing or handbags or any fabric that is 100% natural will do. And without a doubt, I love all the natural recycled products that you sell. I am opening my box now of the 100% recycled natural glass wine decanter that I recently ordered. Thanks for your great product line, the wonderful designers you all have and the emphasis on living with nature the natural way!
    Susan

  6. Useless is a great brand name. i think it really makes you think twice before purchasing and has an ironic twist.
    The fact that the products are sustainable, charitable,and fashionable you use some of the guilt and can feel like you are helping, not hurting. This makes Useless a NATURAL choice next time I need a new bag.

  7. Kristi · · Reply

    I love the idea of Useless! It’s a natural!

  8. Does Useless use natural resources in their products?

  9. Although I wouldn’t actually wear a t-shirt that says useless on it, I might consider one of those cool tote bags. Mine is actually wearing out. I don’t usually buy bags that aren’t made of natural materials, but it’s great that somone is using recycled goods for something.
    I also love compies who give back. Go, useless! 🙂

Leave a Reply

